The Nadis (Energy Channels)

The human subtle system is a vastly intricate one, made up of thousands of channels which carry energy throughout the body. The concentrations of the energy in the subtle system are called Chakras (‘wheels’ in Sanskrit), or energy centers.

The entire system is governed by three primary vertical channels of energy called ‘Nadis’ in Sanskrit and by seven main chakras. Through the Self Realization process, our subtle system is fully activated with the awakening of the Kundalini , which cleans and balances the entire system and enlightens the pure qualities of the chakras within us.


Self-Realization is achieved when the Kundalini, which is the mothering and spiritual energy present in all human beings, is awakened. The Kundalini energy rises from the sacrum bone through the spinal column. As a result, the energy centres (or chakras) become energized and nourished. When this energy passes through the brain, we spontaneously achieve mental silence and a higher state of awareness.

Within our subtle system there are 3 energy channels. They correspond to the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems.

A. The Right Channel

The right channel corresponds to our physical and mental activity. It ends with the ego on the left side of the brain. Ego gives us the idea and sense of individuality. The right channel is the conduit for our energy of action.

B. The Left Channel

The left channel corresponds to our past, emotions and desires. It ends with the superego on the right side of the brain. The superego stores our memories, habits and conditionings. The greatest quality of the left side is joy, which is the nature of the spirit.

C. The Central Channel

The central channel is the channel of our ascent and spiritual growth. It is the conduit which sustains our evolution and guides us, consciously or unconsciously towards higher levels of awareness culminating in the Sahasrara, our uppermost chakra.


Related posts

Leave a Comment